Up to 50% off Memorial Day Sale


Your Cart is Empty

September 13, 2022 1 min read


nicole-designs-all.myshopify.com image

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning spinning wheel. These are a system of seven energy centers located along the spine. Each chakra corresponds to an area of the body, behavioral characteristics, and stages of spiritual growth. Practicing yoga and focusing your energies during different postures can help you to align your chakras and get all the wheels spinning in the same direction and speed. Understanding how to fine-tune and control your chakras through yoga and meditation can help bring balance and peace to your mind, body, and spirit.


There are seven chakras, each associated with a different body part along the spine, from the perineum to the crown of your head. Each chakra is associated with a particular body location, a color, a central emotional/behavioral issue, and many other personal aspects, including identity, goals, rights, etc.


The seven chakras are:

  • Muladhara- base of the spine
  • Svadhisthana- abdomen, genitals, lower back/hip
  • Manipura- solar plexus
  • Anahata- heart area
  • Vishuddha- throat
  • Ajna- brow
  • Sahasrara- top of the head, cerebral cortex.


Through the movements and postures of yoga, you can learn to focus your concentration and energy on and from the various chakras in your body. This can allow you to compensate for areas that may be out of sync with the rest of your body or not active. Balance can be achieved by balancing the energy among all seven of the chakras. You can also use various other tools to help align your chakras, like sound healing, wearing or holding crystals, and meditation. 



Leave a comment